Overflows from the Heart…

It may sound silly, but developing a blog name was kind of stressful for me. You want it to be be original yet easy to remember. You want it to capture who you are, but also intrigue the reader. Blog names can say a lot about a person so I wanted to choose carefully.  I thought I had a great name picked out based on one of my favorite verses, 2 Corinthians 5:17, which states that if anyone is in Christ he is a new creation, the old has gone behold the new has come. But I guess it was too good. Much to my surprise blog names are hard to come by. I did not realize that it would be so difficult to find a name that was not already taken. I tried rewording my original idea multiple times with no luck. I tried titles using parts of my name, struck out there too. I attempted to think of generic wifey/womany titles, fail. Are you getting the picture as to why I became stressed?

As I continued to brainstorm I remembered a verse that had recently convicted me. Matthew 15: 18 But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart… God smacked me pretty hard over the head with this one. As I meditated on it, I began to evaluate my own heart, wondering not only what type of words were proceeding out of my mouth, but also what kinds of attitudes and actions I had been displaying. Were they of love, honor, respect, kindness and selflessness? Or of unrighteousness, disrespect, and selfishness? Sadly, I would have to admit many were of the latter. Even though these may not always overflow outwardly for others to see, the Father always sees them. And they begin to bubble within and can easily squeeze out things of righteousness.

How can one battle against these evil deeds of the flesh? Pray God’s Word. There’s power in His Word. Psalm 19:14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation (thoughts) of my heart be acceptable (pleasing) in Your sight O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.  Ephesians 4:29 Let no unwholesome word proceed from your [my] mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear. Also, what we pour into our hearts and minds will be what flows out of our mouths and lives. As I’ve heard said, “Breath in Jesus and exhale Satan.”

Needless to say, you can now see how I finally came to develop my blog name. It wasn’t my first pick and it wasn’t easy to come by, but I think it’s very well suited. I wanted to start blogging not just as new hobby, but also as a way to bless others. Each post will be something that is overflowing from my heart, but I sincerely pray that each of these overflows are pleasing to my Lord, bringing grace and edification to those who read them.

 

Leave a Reply

