Not working, but working

One of my many roles and titles is that of a Speech-Language Pathologist (aka speech therapist). Speech pathology is a very diverse field and one that can be greatly rewarding. After grad school I worked for four years at a private practice where I had the unique opportunity to serve both children and adults. I worked in a variety of settings: schools, hospital, outpatient rehab, home health and early intervention. I must admit that even though I loved all the different settings, outpatient rehab, treating adult stroke patients, was where I was continuously reaffirmed of why I loved my job. I have many sweet memories of having  helped adults regain their speech and language skills. Whether it was hearing a 43 year old say his daughter’s name again for the first time or a gentleman produce several complete sentences in a conversation, each after weeks or months of therapy, tears of joy were shed. What a privilege to be used by God in such meaningful ways.

Even though I changed “jobs” six months ago and am now a stay-at-home mom, God is still allowing me to use my therapy skills . We recently had a family member suffer a stroke, leaving her with some speech and language difficulties. Unfortunately, she lives several hours away from us so I didn’t get to see her until a couple of months post. But, she just recently was able to come and stay with us for over a week so that I may provide her with some intensive, short term speech therapy. How exciting! I’m not “working”, but still getting the privilege to work. And this time it was on a much more personal level. It was a win-win for both of us. She was able to benefit by receiving therapy and helping to regain some of those skills which were lost and I enjoyed getting to do what I loved. Isn’t God good? I’m so thankful He allowed me to the time, resources and ability to serve her. Mark 10:45 “For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” That’s why we’re here to serve others just as Jesus did.

Just as a bonus, here’s a great link that sums up really well why speech pathology is a great career choice. 🙂

10 Awesome Reasons Why Being a Speech Pathologist Rocks!

3 thoughts on “Not working, but working

  1. Excited about your new blog! Enjoyed your first post SO MUCH. You have always been such a “giving” person. I am glad you got to share your amazing talents by helping someone once again and receiving a blessing of fulfillment in return. Looking forward to your next post…

    Like

Leave a Reply

